Our People

Our Chartist Heritage Trustees 


Dr Elin Jones

Cllr. Charles Ferris

Kim Colebrook

Eoghan Mortel

Dr Melinda Drowley

Jon Wilson

Heather Vaughan

Patrick Drewett (Chair)    

 Events Organisers

 Les James

Richard Frame

Colin Gibson

Dr David Osmond

Cllr. David Mayer

Peter Strong

Reymond Stroud

Chris Larcombe

Gareth Coombs

The trustees choose projects on the basis of need and best value.  We consult with other bodies such as Newport Museum, Gwent Archives, Shirehall Monmouth, and Newport City Council and other heritage groups, community groups or schools before engaging with them on projects.  We are careful to avoid replication of projects but are keen to support heritage projects being undertaken by other organisations.

The story of the South Wales Chartists transcends other cultural backgrounds and it has become the common heritage of all the inhabitants of the region.  The commitment to common values as expressed by the Chartists in the famous event of 1839 when 5000 Chartists marched to Newport from all parts of the South Wales Valleys in the cause of free speech, justice and democracy are as important today as they were then.This heritage is a strong and uniting force.  Celebrating common heritage is a powerful and often under-utilised device for strengthening the bonds between diverse communities, encouraging people from all sections of the community to feel proud to belong to a region and a city that shares such an inspiring heritage.  By raising the profile and status of local Chartist heritage, we offer a unique hook for our communities to develop their cohesive strength and become safer, stronger, and more vibrant places in which to live and work.

My Tickets is currently in testing mode. No financial transactions will be processed.